Judea & Samaria (West Bank)

Judea and Samaria are biblical names of the territory roughly corresponding to the area now usually referred to as the West Bank.

Samaria and Judea also roughly corresponds to the territory of the ancient Kingdoms of Israel and Judah, also known as the Northern and the Southern Kingdoms.

The Judea and Samaria area is administered by the Israel Defense Forces Central Command, and Military law is applied.

Administrative decisions are subject to the Command’s chief.

The future status of the region is a key factor in the on-going Israeli-Palestinian conflict.

United Nations Security Council Resolution 242, adopted in November 1967, after Israel captured the region from Jordan in the Six Day War, lists as its first principle “the inadmissibility of the acquisition of territory by war and the need to work for a just and lasting peace in which every State in the area can live in security” and called for the “withdrawal of Israel armed forces from territories occupied in the recent conflict” in conjunction with the “termination of all claims or states of belligerency and respect for and acknowledgment of the sovereignty, territorial integrity and political independence of every State in the area and their right to live in peace within secure and recognized boundaries free from threats or acts of force”.

Judea and Samaria provide Israel with essential security.

The 1949 Armistice lines left only 9 miles (14, 4 km) between the eastern border and the Mediterranean Sea. Over half of Israel’s population lives in this narrow and vulnerable stretch of land.

In addition, much of Israel’s industry and economic infrastructure is concentrated there, including its energy and power installations.

More from Geography