Proclamation of Independence

The Israeli Declaration of Independence was proclaimed on May 14, 1948, the day before the British Mandate was due to expire.

David Ben-Gurion, the Executive Head of the World Zionist Organization and the chairman of the Jewish Agency for Palestine, declared the establishment of a Jewish state in Eretz-Israel, to be known as the State of Israel

That day, the members of the People's Council proclaimed the establishment of the state.

The proclamation is divided into four sections: the section that describes the history of the Jewish people, its struggle to renew its political life and the international recognition of this right; the operative section, that proclaims the establishment of the state; the section that declares the principles which will guide the State of Israel; and the appeal to the U.N., the Arab inhabitants of the state, the Arab states and world Jewry.

Even though the proclamation is neither a law nor an ordinary legal document, it has legal validity, and its first and third sections were made use of by the Supreme Court for the purpose of normative interpretation.

The second section is the primary source of authority in the Israeli legal system.

Some were inclined to view the Proclamation of Independence, and especially its declaratory section, as a Constitution, but the Supreme Court stated, in a series of decisions, that the proclamation does not have constitutional validity, and that it is not a supreme law which may be used to invalidate laws and regulations that contradict it.

Topic scheet in PDF

Download pdf View pdf

Image Bank

David Ben-Gurion Independence celebration in the streets David Ben Gurion reading the Declaration of Independence of Israel on May 14, 1948 in Tel Aviv Palestine Post - The State of Israel is born David Ben-Gurion proclaims the birth of the State of Israel

Related EIPA Updates

No EIPA updates found