Arab recognition of Jewish State

When the State of Israel was established on May 15th, 1948, it was not recognized by all Arab and Islamic states.

In the wake of the Six-Day War in June 1967, to put additional diplomatic and military pressure on Israel, Arab oil-producing countries threatened to impose an oil embargo on countries with international relations with Israel.

As a result, many African and Asian countries broke ties with Israel.

On 1 September 1967, the eight members of the Arab League issued the Khartoum Resolution which included a pledge not to recognize Israel. Similar pressure was exerted after the Arab-Israeli War of 1973.

Several countries once had diplomatic relations with Israel, but have since broken or suspended them

Following Israel's recognition of and entering into negotiations with the Palestine Liberation Organization (PLO) many African, Asian and even Arab countries restored diplomatic relations with Israel.

The Vatican entered into diplomatic relations with Israel in 1994. Several countries broke or suspended relations as a result of the 2006 Israeli-Lebanese War and the blockade of the Gaza Strip.

At present day, a total of 32 United Nations member states do not recognize the State of Israel: 18 of the 22 members of the Arab League: Algeria, Bahrain, Comoros, Djibouti, Iraq, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, Tunisia, United Arab Emirates, and Yemen.

A further 11 members of the Organization of Islamic Cooperation (OIC): Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Brunei, Chad, Guinea, Indonesia, Iran, Malaysia, Mali, Niger, and Pakistan; and Bhutan, Cuba, and North Korea.

In 2002, the Arab League proposed the recognition of Israel by Arab countries as part of the resolution of the Palestine-Israel conflict in the framework of the Arab Peace Initiative.

Topic scheet in PDF

Download pdf View pdf

Image Bank

No images found

Related EIPA Updates

No EIPA updates found

More from Arabs & Israel