The Knesset

Israel’s legislative body or parliament is called the Knesset or parliament. Located in Jerusalem, the Knesset has 120 members. A member of the Knesset is elected by the citizens.

The unicameral Knesset passes all laws, supervises the government work and can dissolve itself and call for new elections.

Knesset is a term derived from the Great Synagogue, and means Assembly.

According to Israel’s basic law, that was approved on February 12, 1958, the Knesset is the Israeli House of Representatives/ Parliament/ Legislative body, who will be located in Jerusalem and will be composed of 120 members.

This law deals with the election system, the right to choose and to be elected, the Knesset work, the organization of committees….

There are several types of Knesset committees: permanent committees such as Finance Committee, Interior and Environment Committee Labour, Welfare, and Health Committee amend proposed legislation and can initiate legislation.

Special committees such as Public Petitions Committee, are appointed temporarily to deal with a particular manner. Parliamentary inquiry committees deal with special national importance issues.

Another committee is the Ethics Committee. A large part of the Knesset work is performed in the plenum.

Topic scheet in PDF

No topic sheet pdf found

Additional information

no additional information found

Image Bank

No images found

Related EIPA Updates

No EIPA updates found